Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

The purpose of the New Kent County Special Education Advisory Committee is to advise and assist the New Kent County School Division in identifying strengths and weaknesses of its special education services.  The SEAC members are appointed by the local school board and is comprised of parents of students with disabilities who attend New Kent County Schools.

The SEAC meetings include presentations on relevant special education topics and a public comment period.  If you are interested in providing comments and are unable to attend the meetings, you may provide written comments by submitting them to one of the committee members.


The timeframe for each presentation is 6:30 p.m. – 7:45 p.m. 
The SEAC meeting will follow the presentation. 
Location:  New Kent High School Media Center.


New Kent Elementary School Representatives
Shannon Rudd, Chairperson 
(773) 678-1967

Jenni Harding
(615) 405-3990

George W. Watkins Representatives:
Karen Martell
(804) 339-1797 or (804) 932-4810

Sara Young

New Kent Middle School Representatives:
Cassandra Collier
(804) 971-6295 or (804) 514-2820

Alicia Akrie-Williams
(804) 334-2177

New Kent High School Representatives:
Debbie Anderson
(804) 357-1226 or (804) 932-3585

Tim Bennette
(804) 932-8252

Lisa Bennette
(804) 932-8252

Teacher Representative:
Holly Jackson, NKHS
(804) 966-9671

Community Agency Representative
Johnnie Cunningham
Henrico Mental Health
(804) 222-8194, ext. 3021

Director of Special Education and Student Services
Dr. Dianne Pollard
(804) 966-8525

Information pertaining to Special Education Advisory Committees in Virginia can be found at the link below.


Parent’s Guide to Special Education 
Parent’s Guide to Special Education in Spanish